How to setup Anchor Wallet from EOSAuthority

Hi Newbie here. Ive been trying to get my EOS of EOSAuthority,com after losing my Prv Key. I went through all the steps to retrieve it ( waited the 30 days ) etc. Got the email with the new Key but pretty much stuck from their. The new key isnt a “starts with 5” or “PRV”. So trying to setup a anchor wallet isnt working because it wants one of those Keys. The key starts with EOS ?

So any tips greatly appreciated.

An email? I’m not sure anyone is going to email you a private key - which raises concerns about what steps you went through and if it was possibly some sort of phishing attack. What process exactly did you go through?

Public keys are what start with EOS..., Private Keys always start with a 5.... If you don’t have the private key, you can’t access the account. The public keys are publicly sharable and don’t actually grant any access.

1 Like

Hi,
So glad ive got someone to help me with this. I have been onto this for sometime now trying to get my EOS tokens that I moved from my MEW wallet before the whole main net started. I followed all the correct prcedures and got confirmations from EOSAuthority.com. They set up an account with my EOS tokens there. I never went back for ages waiting for the whole mainnet finish. So when i did go back I saw all my tokens etc all there but were %75 were staked. However when i went to do anything to them unstake etc, I had to setup a wallet on Anchor. I did this but it always failed as my keys werent correct. I had all my original MEW keys but couldnt find my EOS Prv key that i assumed EOSAuthority created when i joined up. SO i then went through the EOS 30day wait for Lost Prv keys. On the exact 30 days I get an email saying all good your new keys are ready. The only Key their was that Public one i mentioned.
Heres their email with link obviously edited out.
"Hello,
You are getting this email because there has been progress on the account with the Lost Key reset process.